Tommy Makem   •   From The Archives

image image
image image
  • From The Archives
    • 1995 - Shanachie 52040 CD (USA)
  • Tracklist
    1. Henry Joy
    2. Leather Wing Bat
    3. Bard Of Armagh
    4. Erie Canal
    5. Butcher Boy
    6. Farewell to Nova Scotia
    7. Winds Of Morning (Tommy Makem)
    8. Little Beggar Man
    9. Four Green Fields (Tommy Makem)
    10. Sally O (Tommy Makem)
    11. True Love And Time (Tommy Makem)
    12. Gallowa' Hills
    13. Better Times (Tommy Makem)
    14. Song Of The Wandering Aengus (W.B. Yeats, Trad. Arr. & Adap. T. Makem)
    15. Killyburn Brae
    16. Bonny Love
    17. Venezuela (John Jacob Niles)
    18. Vancouver (Tommy Makem)
    19. New York Girls
    20. Lagan Love (Jos. Campbell, P.D. Arr. & Adap. T. Makem)
    21. Lolly Too Dum
    22. Going Home To Mary (Tommy Makem)
    23. As I Roved Out

  • Musicians
    • Ray Durham: Lead Guitar (all tracks) & Backing Vocals (tracks: 13-21)
    • Dick Barton: Guitar (all tracks) & Backing Vocals (tracks: 13-21)
    • Martin Walsh: Bass
    • Tommy Makem: 5 String Banjo & Vocals
  • Credits
    • Photograph: Gibson Enterprises, Dundalk, Ireland
    • Art Direction: Joan Pelosi
    • Digital Mastering: Robert Vosgien, CMS Digital, CA
    • All tracks: Trad. Arr. & Adap. T. Makem, unless otherwise noted.

"Ireland's premier balladeer and folk singer." — Irish-America Magazine

" … a piece of theatre, a lament and a love song that came from the heart of one man and the soul of a country … " — Boston Globe

Tommy Makem has always been considered one of the major forces in the Irish music scene. This release is a collection of some of his early recordings which have been unavailable for many years.