The Makem & Clancy Concert (1977)   •   Makem & Clancy

image image
image image image
  • The Makem & Clancy Concert
    • 1977 - Blackbird BLB 1002 LP [x2] (USA)
  • Side One
    1. Rambles Of Spring (Tommy Makem)
    2. In The Town Of Ballybay (Tommy Makem)
    3. The Dutchman (Michael Peter Smith)
    4. Sound The Pibroch (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Makem, Clancy)
    5. The Cobbler (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Tommy Makem)
  • Side Two
    1. The 200 Year Old Alcoholic (Liam Clancy)
    2. The Mermaid (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Makem, Clancy)
    3. Peter Kagan And The Wind (Gordon Bok)
  • Side Three
    1. The Rocky Road To Dublin (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Makem, Clancy)
    2. Mary Mack (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Tommy Makem)
    3. Botany Bay (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Makem, Clancy)
    4. And The Band Played Waltzing Matilda (Eric Bogle)
  • Side Four
    1. O'Donnell Abu (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Makem, Clancy)
    2. Ar Éirinn Ní Neosfainn Cé Hí (Trad. Arr. Adpt. Liam Clancy)
    3. My Father Loves Nikita Khrushchev (Colm Gallagher)
    4. Leave Her Johnny (Trad. Arr. Makem, Clancy, Adpt. Louis Killen)

  • Musicians
    • Allan Barty: Fiddle & Mandolin
    • Archie Fisher: Guitar & Bass
    • Lucy Fisher: Viola & Baroque Fiddle
    • Christina Cowan: Flute
  • Credits
    • Produced by Archie Fisher
    • Recorded live at the Gaiety Theatre, Dublin — July 25-30, 1977 by Radio Edinburgh Studios
    • Engineer: Douglas Bogie, Neil Ross, Roy Ashby, Sandie Wilkie
    • Cover Design: Martin Kelleher
  • Other releases include …

Sleeve Notes

It would be utterly impossible to capture all the excitement, colour, smell and exhilarating aura of our concert tour in Ireland in the Summer of 1977, but we have tried to re-experience some of the high spots of the concert with this recording.

In the beginning, this was to have been a single L.P. record, but on giving it a little thought, we decided that it would be necessary to have two discs in order to convey the overall feeling of a concert performance.

As with our live concerts, we have tried to include as varied a programme as possible, so you will find some old songs like "O'Donnell Abu" and "The Cobbler"; songs like "And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda", which is such an integral part of this concert programme that it just had to be included on the album, and new songs tike "The 200 Year Old Alcoholic" and "The Rambles of Spring". You will also find some poetry and the beautiful drama-song, "Peter Kagan and the Wind".

We hope you'll find something to your liking and perhaps even be able to savour some of the atmosphere and excitement which we experienced during our Irish concert tour in July 1977.

Wishing you good listening.