Tunes 'n' Tales of Ireland   •   The Clancy Brothers with Robbie O'Connell

image image image
  • Tunes 'n' Tales of Ireland
    • 1988 - Folk Era FE 2061 CD
  • Tracklist
    1. Wild Colonial Boy
    2. Jug Of Punch
    3. Master McGrath
    4. William Bloat
    5. Sweet Thames Flow Softly (Ewan McColl)
    6. Eddystone Light
    7. Bantry Girl's Lament
    8. Pub With No Beer
    9. Off To Philadelphia
    10. I'm A Freeborn Man (Ewan MacColl)
    11. Sister Josephine (Jake Thackray)
    12. Finnegan's Wake
    13. Wild Rover
    14. Rising Of The Moon
    15. Parting Glass

  • The Clancy Brothers with Robbie O'Connell
    • Paddy Clancy: Vocals and Harmonica
    • Tom Clancy: Vocals
    • Bobby Clancy: Vocals, Harmonica, Bodhrán and Banjo
    • Robbie O'Connell: Vocals and Guitar
  • Credits
    • Producer: Steve Fiott
    • Executive Producer: Allan Shaw, Steve Fiott
    • Engineer: Dr. Toby Mountain
    • Editing: Steve Fiott, Dr. Toby Mountain
    • Photography: Steve Fiott

Sleeve Notes

The CLANCY BROTHERS AND ROBBIE O'CONNELL represent all that's good in Irish folk music. The Clancy's career has spanned almost thirty years of performing all over the world. Paddy and Tommy Clancy have been with the band since its inception, while brother Bobby joined after Tommy Makem left. Nephew Robbie O'Connell became a band member when brother Liam Clancy left to join Makem. Today's Clancy Brothers band is perhaps the most exciting and musically evolved edition to date. First, let's look at the TUNES.

TUNE'S N' TALES OF IRELAND presents many songs that have never been recorded by he group. Among these are EDDYSTONE LIGHT, a beautiful ballad titled SWEET THAMES FLOW SOFTLY, the comical SISTER JOSEPHINE, TRAVELIN' PEOPLE, the robust OFF TO PHILADELPHIA, PUB WITH NO BEER, the dramatic and exciting MASTER McGRATH and other great new songs. Also included are Clancy Brothers classics like FINNEGAN'S WAKE, RISIN' OF THE MOON, WILD ROVER, WILD COLONIAL BOY, JUG OF PUNCH and the group's traditional closing number, PARTING GLASS. But what makes this album truly unique is the fact that it captures the spirit of the Clancy Brothers in a manner which no other album has over their long career. That spirit is represented by the Clancy's Irish TALES!

Tommy has been an actor for over thirty years, and his dramatic readings or Irish prose, as well as song lyrics is exceptional. Paddy has a wealth of Irish stories that any comedian in the world would envy, and Bobby's not far behind. Robbie is an expert on Irish history, and for the most part, he lets his songs tell their own stories, sometimes humorous, sometimes serious, but always entertaining! On this album, the unique qualities that each brings to the group clearly demonstrate the versatility of the band and the personality of each of its members. And what an exceptional mix that is!

An evening with the CLANCY BROTHERS AND ROBBIE O'CONNELL is unlike another concert experience, and Folk Era is proud to have captured live on Digital Audio Tape one of their finest performances. So, sit back, relax and let the CLANCY BROTHERS AND ROBBIE O'CONNELL take you on a musical trip to Ireland without having to leave your home!