Save The Land   •   The Clancy Brothers with Louis Killen

image image image
  • Save The Land
    • 1972 - Audio Fidelity AFSD-6255 LP (USA)
  • Side One
    1. Save The Land (Bruce Woodley)
    2. Paddy On The Railway
    3. Girl From The North Country (Bob Dylan)
    4. Country Comfort (Elton John/Bernie Taupin)
    5. The Youth Of The Heart
    6. The Bonnie Ship "The Diamond"
  • Side Two
    1. The Men Behind The Wire (Paddy McGuigan)
    2. Lord Of The Dance (Sidney Carter)
    3. The Grey Funnel Line (Cyril Tawney)
    4. Skye Boat Song
    5. The Boston Burglar
    6. The Nightengale

  • The Clancy Brothers with Louis Killen
    • Paddy Clancy: Vocals and Harmonica
      • Lead vocals on "On Country Comfort" and "The Boston Burglar".
    • Tom Clancy: Vocals
      • Lead vocals on "On Save the Land" and "The Diamond".
    • Liam Clancy: Vocals, Guitar and Concertina
      • Lead vocals on "The Men Behind the Wire" and "Skye Boat Song", and the solo singer on "Girl From the North Country" and "The Youth of the Heart".
    • Louis Killen: Vocals, Guitar and Concertina and Whistle
      • Lead vocals on "Paddy on the Railway", "Lord of the Dance", "The Nightingale" and "The Grey Funnel Line".
  • Musicians
    • Barry Kornfeld: guitar, banjo, 12-string guitar, tambourine
    • Gary Ship: keyboards
    • Bob Cranshaw: bass
  • Credits
    • Produced by Orrin Keepnews
    • Recorded in March 1972, at Mercury Sound Studios, New York City
    • Recording and Remix Engineer: Elvin Campbell
    • Mastered by Ray Hagerty
    • Cover Photograph: Sam Zaramber (Three Lions)
    • Back-liner photographs by Charles Stewart
    • Album design: Ron Warwell
    • Executive Producer: Herman D. Gimbel
    • Arranged & adapted by Pat, Tom and Liam Clancy, unless otherwise noted.
      • "The Men Behind The Wire" is a well-known song written by Paddy McGuigan — un-credited on this album.
    • © 1972 Audio Fidelity Records, a division of Audiofidelity Enterprises, Inc.
      • 221 West 57th Street, New York, N.Y. 10019

Sleeve Notes

There are certainly not many singing groups running around these days with a songbook in their heads ranging from centuries-old folksongs to Bob Dylan and Elton John, from traditional Irish to contemporary Belfast, from ancient sea chanteys to their modern equivalent, from Jesus to ecology.

There is, as a matter of fact, only one such wildly varied group in the whole wide world — and here they are: Paddy, Tom and Liam, and their good friend Louis Killen.

Almost everything in this collection will be new even to the most devoted Clancy fans, for the very good reason that the boys have never recorded them before. But with the help of some friends (not to mention their favorite arranger, J. J. Jameson), the material quickly got to sound exactly like what most of it will now be — permanent parts of the vast and rich Clancy repertoire.

A couple of items might call for a touch of explanation. The moving title song is by a talented young Australian writer named Bruce Woodley; it has never been recorded by anyone. (Woodley's friend, guitarist Barry Kornfeld, in addition to his many other good deeds on this album, forcibly brought this number to the Clancys' attention.) The Bob Dylan song re-interpreted here by Liam has also been recorded by its composer under the title "North Country Blues" (which it is not). And, in accordance with the British slang practice of referring to steamship companies by the color of their boats' funnels, the Grey Funnel Line is the Royal Navy.

-Orrin Keepnews