Dónal Clancy: Close to Home


  • Close to Home
    • 2006 - Compass COM 4438 CD
  • Track List:
    1. Tommy Coen's Memories/Callaghan's
    2. Garrett Barry's/The Humours Of Trim
    3. The Nomad
    4. Ask My Father/Helvic Head
    5. Sean O' Duibhir Ghleanna/Bill Malley's
    6. Farewell To Connaught/The Repeal Of The Union
    7. Lord Inchiquin
    8. An Buachaill Caol Dubh
    9. The Monaghan Jig/Old Hag You Have Killed Me
    10. The Castle Of Dromore/Sonny Brogan's
    11. The Concert Reel/My Love And I In The Garden
    12. Byrne's/Kitty's Wedding

  • Musicians
    • Dónal Clancy: guitar, bouzouki and bodhrán
    • David Power: uilleann pipes


Carrying the legacy of the Clancy family name into the 21st century, Dónal Clancy has established himself at the forefront of a new generation of traditional Irish musicians. He first rose to fame as a founding member of the Irish supergroup Danú, and later cemented his reputation as one of the genre's leading guitarists as a member of Solas and The Eileen Ivers Band. On Close to Home, Dónal's gorgeous acoustic guitar is showcased in an intimate setting on a collection of traditional jigs, airs, and reels.

"His guitar was bold and easy, rhythmically anchoring and emotionallly resonant. His solo of an old Breton air was somehow both elegant and robust."—BOSTON GLOBE

"The hottest new guitarist in the Celtic realm."—SCOTT ALARIK